ASA Statement on House Sugar Policy Vote

The American Sugar Alliance issued the following statement about today’s bipartisan vote in the United States House of Representatives to reject a Farm Bill amendment offered by Reps. Joe Pitts (R-PA), Danny Davis (D-IL), Bob Goodlatte (R-VA), and Earl Blumenauer (D-OR) to gut America’s sugar policy.

“Once again, legislators have turned back attempts to reward heavily subsidized foreign sugar producers and leave America more dependent on other countries for a food staple.